top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCyd Webster Beacham

Disruption of peace - Driving while Black in the USA

We sure enjoyed our vacation. And then we had to drive to the airport.... around an hour and a half drive to Charlotte, NC. I put the airport address in Maps navigator, and away we went. It took us on some back roads that had almost no traffic. It was a smooth, enjoyable ride and we were talking and laughing... having a good time, until I realized that a police car was behind us!


And then I looked at my speedometer and realized I was 10 mph over the speed limit. Now mind you.... a while back a car literally zoomed around me on the 2 lane narrow road with no shoulders on either side, so I guess people who are from there, know the road and can drive fast. No problem. I am happy to let folks zoom past me... I mean, I was already a little over the speed limit.



Anyway.... the police car behind us.... made us all nervous. It got so quiet in the car. Even the kids stopped talking. I couldn't hear the music playing, and didn't even realize I turned it down. So we had 9 miles on that lonely road. We drove around 3 miles before I saw a turn off. I was praying that he would turn. As I zoomed past the intersection, so did the police car. My sister said, "He didn't turn". I said, I know. I was disgusted. I said why do we have to feel like this just traveling to the airport. I told everyone if we get stopped, make sure you have your phones ready to record. Something simple can go way south in seconds.


At some points he came close. I had slowed down to 5 mph over but the car kept wanting to go faster it seemed. Then he fell way back, still following. 6 miles in, and another intersection was coming up. I was praying that he turned away. We passed the intersection, and he turned off and we were all relieved.


This is the USA. This is our lives. Our lives matter to us.

48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Best most efficient info on Confederate Monuments

The video I viewed today, puts it where the goats can get it, as Joe Madison (The Black Eagle) would say. I am amazed at people who feel that it is some type of historical heritage that should be idol

bottom of page